Week 2 – Make a Plan, Stan.

Standard

Jodi, over at the Clutter-Free Classroom, has designated Week 2 of her Clutter-Free Classroom Challenge for making a plan.  I love making a plan.  Seriously love planning.  You sweat so much less than when you’re actually executing said plan.

 

I made a huge list of the areas of my room I needed to work on, but when I finished, I realized it was basically every square inch of my class.  So I’m going to hit the areas the kids and I use most frequently, and go from there.

I decided my sorting bins would be:

  •  Recycle – we already have bins for this in our room
  • Trash
  • Donate – this stuff will go to the teacher’s mailroom
  • Keep
My non-negotiable sorting rules are:
  • If I haven’t used it in three years, ditch it.  (My stuff stayed boxed up all last year because blah, blah, blah, so I’m giving myself an extra year,)
  • If it’s broken, ditch it.
  • If it’s something that I can print from my computer, ditch it.
  • If I have multiple copies lying around, ditch the extras.
  • If it’s out of date or irrelevant, ditch it.
My “sorting kit” consists of:
  • a bottle of cleaner
  • a roll of paper towels
  • garbage bags
  • Post-It notes
  • a tape measure
  • pad of paper and pencil
  • ziplocs of varying sizes
  • large and small labeled bins
My plan is to sort, to clean, and to organize – in that order.  I’m going to start small, as that is the only way I can find time to go Clutter-Free with a room full of fifth graders.  Wish me luck!

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

