Organizing on Spring Break

Standard

I have been so looking forward to organizing, snapping Nat Geo quality photos, and celebrating the beauty that is my art supply cabinet.  But they keep expecting me to teach all day.  Don’t they realize I am trying to create a thing of beauty here?  No one understands artists.  It’s so hard…

And now I’m on Spring Break.  I’m not sure if Spring Break is supposed to be capitalized, but I feel it deserves the reverence that capital letters bring to it, don’t you?  So there is no work being done on the organization of my classroom. In fact, with my teacher bag and rolling cart still in the car, there is no schoolwork of any kind being done.  I’ve been doing my best to pretend I am actually retired, at least for the next week.

Yesterday, however, I was talking shop with my daughter, who is also a fifth grade teacher and phenomenal at it.  (Yes, I know she’s my daughter, but I keep hearing it from other teachers she works with, so there.)  She has every awesome power point, rubric, and graphic organizer she’s created over the past four and a half years.  And they’re all amazingly organized on her laptop, where she was able to quickly pull up things to show me.  I am ridiculously envious of her organized files.

So my goal this week has shifted from flat-out denial to going through all of my computer files to sort, discard, and organize my resources.  And then steal all my daughter’s wonderful stuff before she wises up and starts selling them on TPT!

Next week, when I return to work, I will also return to the Week 5 Clutter-Free Classroom Challenge and by gosh, I will post those after photos!  Until then, check out The Clutter-Free Classroom and the latest challenge!

Leave a Reply

